Co-financed by Greece and the European Union   
A- A A+

Governance structure

Since 1985, a Maritime Department (MD), dedicated to the management of the research fleet of the Hellenic Centre for Marine Research operates at HCMR. It manages and supports operations off all three research vessels (Aegaeon, Philia and Alkyon) and all five underwater vehicles (Thetis submersible, Max Rover ROV and three smaller ROVs).

The management structure proposed here for the renovated R/V PHILIA foresees the following bodies:

  • Steering Committee: it will operate in the Hellenic Centre for Marine Research under the auspice of the General Secretariat for Research & Technology and the National Council for Research & Technology. The Steering Committee will consist of high-ranking marine scientists and representatives from the User- Partners and will be responsible for designing the research strategy for the optimum use of the new vessel. The Steering Committee will also design the access policy for the vessel and, in collaboration with the Maritime Department will set the funding rules and ship-time costs.
  • Evaluation Committee: It will be responsible for the annual schedule of the research cruises; it will receive proposals for ship-time from national and international users and will run the evaluation procedure.
  • Maritime Department: it will be responsible for managerial, logistical and technical support of the vessel, including all aspects related to international cruises, port calls, safety regulations, regular services etc.